Publications at the School

Books (edited and co-edited) by Faculty


Book chapters authored by Faculty 


Journal articles authored by Faculty 


Books (Monographs) by Faculty 

School of Law Wins the Spirit of Stetson Award

PDF version
Date and time: 
Tue, 2016-05-24 17:41


The University of Nairobi team receives the Spirit of Stetson Award. From L-R are Prof. R. Gardner Stetson Univeristy School of Law,Mr. Paul Machogu faculty staff at UoN School of Law, Mr. Dennis M. Nkarichia student at UoN School of Law, and Prof. David Forman Director for Environmental Law Programme at University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

The University of Nairobi School of Law team participating in the just concluded 20th edition of the Annual International Environmental Moot Court Competition has won the Spirit of Stetson Award. The award is in recognition to the university with the most spirited team and voted on by all the competing teams and judges. It is based on the interaction of the teams, by recognising the camaraderie, fair play, and civility of the teams. The international rounds where held in Stetson University College of Law in Gulfport, Florida, U.S.A. from the 13-16th of April 2016 with winning teams from the various regional rounds in attendance. The overall winning team was the University of Saint Carlos with the University of Philippines College of Law as the runners-up. 

The annual Stetson I. E. M. C. is the world’s premier moot court competition devoted exclusively to global environmental issues. Stetson Law School founded the Competition in 1996 and hosts the International Finals each spring. Teams compete in regional rounds throughout the world and the top teams in each region advancing to the international finals. In the 20th edition, teams from Brazil, China, Colombia, India, Ireland, Kenya, the Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore and the United States participated in the International Finals. The competition sees competing students present oral arguments in response to a theoretical problem earlier prepared by the competition judges.

The University of Nairobi team had earlier in the year won the pioneer East African Regional rounds that were held in Nairobi, Kenya with teams from Makerere University and Kenyatta University participating. The University of Nairobi team comprised of two students; namely Dennis M. Nkarichia and Ivy C. Koech and Mr. Paul t. Machogu served as the team coach and the faculty representative.

Ms. Ivy Koech and Mr Dennis Nkarichia who represented the University of Nairobi School of Law in the Moot Court Competition

Mr. Paul Machogu, faculty staff at UoN School of Law, Mr. Dennis Nkarichia, 3rd Year at UoN School of Law receive the awards from Prof David M. Forman the Director, Environmental Law Programme at University of Hawai'i at Manoa during the Award ceremony

We congratulate the team for their outstanding performance.

Expiry Date: 
Fri, 2019-05-31 17:41

Contact Us

School of Law, UoN

P. O. Box 30197 - 00100

Parklands Campus.Nairobi.
Tel: 020-2314371/72/74/75

Mobile: 0724-922608/


Media Center

Facebook Funpage


UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi