The inter campus moot competition 2015 selection round for the African moot competition was held on the 17th and the 18th of June 2015 at the University of Nairobi, Mombasa Campus. The inter campus competition is organized annually by the school of law but this year the competition was used as a qualification/selection round for the upcoming 24th African Human Rights Moot Competition to be held in Lusaka, Zambia.

Parklands Campus, entered two teams composed of:

  1. Mr. leon ndekei
  2. Ms. cynthia amutete
  3. Ms.  cecilia isohi
  4. Ms. lelei cheruto

Mombasa Campus entered two teams composed of

  1. Mr Wanjiku George Mwaura
  2. Ms Koech Ivy Chepngeno
  3. Ms Waiyaki Grace Nungari
  4. Mr. Ngombo Steven Kithi

The Semi finals tooks place on 17th and 18th June 2015 .The oral rounds consisted of four preliminary rounds which were also the semi finals on the first day. They were held at the School of Law Mombasa. Each team argued before a bench of two practicing advocates as an applicant and then as a respondent. The scores from the two rounds for both oralists of each team were combined with the memorial scores to determine the two teams out of the four that would progress to the finals.

The finals were held on the 18th June 2015 at the Mombasa Law Courts, High Court 1. The event was presided over by two incumbent High Court Judges. The finals involved one round of oral arguments in which each oralist had 30 Minutes to submit. The winning team was selected on the basis of the aggregate score of the oralists from the two judges to determine the best team. The winning team that is to represent the University of Nairobi at the upcoming 24th African Human Rights Moot Competition comprises of


We commend the two students for their outstanding performance and wish them the very best in Lusaka Zambia.


To be held in Lusaka, Zambia
Read More....


Dear All,


VENUE: Lecture Theatre (Parklands Campus).
TIME: 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM


Kindly arrange to attend.

Prof. Patricia Kameri - Mbote
Professor of Law/Dean




School of Law: University of Nairobi


LT (Parklands Campus)
Read More....

I am pleased to inform you that the School of Law will participate in the 2015 edition of the All African

Moot Competition. This time round the event will be hosted by the University of Zambia between 5th to 10th October.

You will recall that we hosted and won the competition in 2014. Full details of this year’s competition including the fact pattern, are available on the website of the University of Pretoria

Internal selection for Parklands Campus will be on Thursday, June 11, 2015, at noon. If you are interested in participating in this exciting competition, you must submit your memorial (in response to the problem) to the Commercial Law Department, not later than Wednesday 10th, June, 2015 at 2:30 p.m. Your work, which should not be bound, should not exceed 2,000 words. All your citations must comply with OSCOLA see citation format.

For further clarification do not hesitate to contact me otherwise I look forward to your participation.


Best Regards,


Edwin Abuya

Associate Professor of Law.

Moot coordinator.

School of Law, University of Nairobi.



University of Zambia
Read More....


Prof Migai Akech has contributed a chapter in THE QUIET POWER OF INDICATORS: MEASURING DEVELOPMENT, CORRUPTION, AND THE RULE OF LAW 248 (Sally Engle Merry, Kevin Davis, and Benedict Kingsbury, eds, Cambridge University Press, 2015).His chapter, Evaluating the Impact of Corruption (Perception) Indicators on Governance Discourses in Kenya, examines the production and use of the corruption indicators by TI-Kenya and the Government in the context of the fight against corruption and institutional reform in Kenya over the last decade. The chapter makes two arguments. First, although TI-Kenya’s approach to measuring corruption is useful, it is not only incomplete since it is largely concerned with bribery but has also had little impact on governmental decision-making on corruption. Although the TI-Kenya Bribery Index rankings name and shame “corrupt” institutions, they neither explain the causes of corruption nor give such institutions incentives to do better, apart from removal from the Index. Second, the Government’s approach to measuring corruption promises to reduce public sector corruption since it is an essential component of performance contracting, which requires public institutions, and gives them much needed incentives, to undertake institutional reforms. Nevertheless, the TI-Kenya Bribery Index remains a useful tool for monitoring the effectiveness of governmental efforts to eradicate public sector corruption.

University of Zambia
Read More....

Contact Us

School of Law, UoN

P. O. Box 30197 - 00100

Parklands Campus.Nairobi.
Tel: 020-2314371/72/74/75

Mobile: 0724-922608/


Media Center

Facebook Funpage


UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2015. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi