About Us

The School of Law was established in 1970 and is one of the original faculties of the University of Nairobi.  The main task of the Faculty is to run a national training Programme for the legal profession, leading to the degree of Bachelor of Laws (LL.B).  The School also runs Master of Laws (LL.M) and PhD Programmes for students wishing to specialize in specific branches of law.

 Although law studies at the University Level are by tradition, of theoretical character, pedagogical efforts have been made to encourage active participation in class and to introduce mock trails and moot court competitions locally and internationally.  The school also runs a Clinical Programme under which students are attached to courts in order for them to appreciate the workings of the law and again practical experience.

The training at the Faculty provides students with knowledge of the law required in professional practice, business, industry as well as service in local and central governments.  Since its establishment, the Faculty has maintained a distinctive character in contribution to the legal profession and the legal fraternity in Kenya and is the leading source of legal knowledge and skills in the country.  Graduates of the Faculty are serving as senior members of government, judges of superior courts, magistrates, Senior legal officers in the State Law Office, public corporations, local authorities and private entities.  Others are law instructors in many institutions.

This premier law school has evolved steadily from its earlier status as a department of the Faculty of Commerce in the 1960s to one of the largest law faculties in East and Central Africa.  Today, the Faculty has staff strength of 8 professors, 7 Senior Lecturers, 19 Lecturers, 8 Assistant Lecturers and a team of administrative and support staff.  The student population stands at slightly over 1,200.  The Faculty has therefore become the object of legitimate expectation in terms of academic delivery.